POLICY ON TERMS OF OFFICE FOR ELECTED POSITIONS

- 1. For each governing body, Policy Board and Church Council, establish a limit of one term, for all positions with the exception of the offices of Treasurer and Stewardship Cluster Chair. While the Nomination/Leadership Development Committee (NLDC) will seek to replace open positions that have completed one term, there may be circumstances whereby a member will be asked to serve an additional term. Exceptions could arise related to:
 - a. Members filling positions midterm,
 - b. The NLDC being unable to find an appropriate replacement candidate, or
 - c. The Policy Board Vice President moving to the office of President for the next term.
- 2. For the office of Treasurer, establish a limit of six, one-year consecutive terms since this position requires special skills and knowledge of the financial operation and policies. Similarly, the Stewardship Cluster Chair may serve two consecutive three-year terms.
- 3. For members of each governing body (Policy Board and Church Council) who have served their maximum number of consecutive terms, establish a two-year waiting period before being eligible to serve in that same body again.
- 4. No person may hold more than one elected governance position at any one time.
- 5. This policy shall be in effect as of 3-9-2020 and will be re-evaluated by the Policy Board as needed and clarifies current By-Laws related to Elected Position, Terms of Office.

Reference

*BY-LAWS, Article VII, Elected Positions, SECTION 7: Terms of Office. The term of each Board Member and Council Member (other than the Minister and Officers) shall be for three years. The term of each Officer and the Chair of the Council shall be for one year. Any person filling an Elected Position may be re-elected and serve multiple terms.